The Division for Planetary Sciences (DPS) of the American Astronomical Society has announced the recipients of the organization’s annual awards. We would like to congratulate recipients who have been, or are currently, supported through NASA awards managed by the NASA Astrobiology Program as well as those who are members of the current NASA Research Coordination Networks.

The DPS recognizes the important work of scientists who excel in speaking, writing, and engaging audiences in science by awarding two Carl Sagan Medals for excellence in public communication. This year’s recipients are Dr. Nicolle Zellner (Albion College) and Dr. Adam Frank (University of Rochester).

The DPS recognizes the pioneering work of researchers who are in the early stages of their career with the Harold C. Urey Prize for outstanding achievement in planetary science research by an early career scientist. This year’s recipient is Dr. Lynnae C. Quick (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center).

For more information about the 2021 DPS Prizes, visit:

NASA’s Lynnae Quick Awarded American Astronomical Society Prize for Outstanding Achievement (NASA)