Notice: This is an archived and unmaintained page. For current information, please browse

ExoClimes 2016

Presenter: Various Speakers (See description for full list)
When: August 1, 2016 8AM PDT

Planetary atmospheres from Earth to exoplanets, M-dwarfs as host stars, M-dwarf planet atmospheres, direct imaging, hot Jupiters, aerosols and clouds, early Earth, surface-atmosphere interactions, volatile delivery and loss.

Archived Presentations:
Monday, August 1st, 2016
Andy Ingersoll (Caltech) [view presentation]
Jonathan Fortney (UC Santa Cruz) [view presentation]
Ralph Lorenz (NASA GSFC) [view presentation]
Heather Knutson (Caltech) [view presentation]
Jayne Birkby (Harvard University) [view presentation]
Y. Katherina Feng (UC Santa Cruz) [view presentation]
Poster Flash Talks (Round 1) [view presentations]

Beth Biller (University of Edinburgh) [view presentation]
Sandy Leggett (Gemini University) [view presentation]
Andrew Skemer (UC Santa Cruz) [view presentation]
Benjamin Burningham (NASA Ames Research Center) [view presentation]
Michael Liu (University of Hawaii) [view presentation]
Yifan Zhou (University of Arizona) [view presentation]
Theodora Karalidi (University of Arizona) [view presentation]
Poster Flash Talks (Round 2) [view presentations]

Tuesday, August 2nd, 2016
Colin Goldblatt (University of Victoria) [view presentation]
Jacob Haqq-Misra (Blue Marble Space Institute of Science) [view presentation]
Robin Wordsworth (Harvard University) [view presentation]
William B. Moore (Hampton University) [view presentation]
Mark Jellinek (University of British Columbia) [view presentation]

Zach Berta-Thompson (University of Colorado) [view presentation]
Diana Dragomir (MIT) [view presentation]
Antigona Segura (VPL, University of Washington) [view presentation]
Evgenya Shkolnik (Arizona State University) [view presentation]
Courtney Dressing (Caltech University) [view presentation]
Matt Tilley (VPL, University of Washington) [view presentation]
Allison Youngblood (University of Colorado, Boulder) [view presentation]

Wednesday, August 3rd, 2016
Ruth Murray-Clay (UC Santa Cruz) [view presentation]
Patricio Cubillos (Space Research Institute) [view presentation]
Eric D. Lopez (University of Edinburgh) [view presentation]
Eric Gaidos (University of Hawaii, Manoa) [view presentation]
Emily Rauscher (University of Michigan) [view presentation]

Matteo Brogi (University of Colorado, Boulder) [view presentation]
Thaddeus D. Komacek (University of Arizona) [view presentation]
Nikole K. Lewis (Space Telescope Science Institute) [view presentation]
Jérémy Leconte (Bordeaux Lab) [view presentation]
Laura Kreidberg (Harvard University) [view presentation]
Ashlee N. Wilkins (University of Maryland) [view presentation]
Enric Palle (Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias) [view presentation]

Thursday, August 4th, 2016
Vivien Parmentier (University of Arizona) [view presentation]
Peter Gao (Caltech University) [view presentation]
Ian Dobbs-Dixon (NYU, Abu Dhabi) [view presentation]
Benjamin Charnay (University of Washington) [view presentation]
Marcelino Agundez (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid) [view presentation]
Pascal Tremblin (CEA Saclay) [view presentation]
Eliza Kempton (Grinnell College) [view presentation]
Kevin Stevenson (University of Chicago) [view presentation]

Hannah Wakeford (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center) [view presentation]
Sarah Hörst (Johns Hopkins University) [view presentation]
Jeremy Bailey (UNSW Australia) [view presentation]
Brian Jackson (Boise State University) [view presentation]
Joanna Barstow (UCL, UK) [view presentation]

Archived Posters:
David S. Amundsen (Columbia University) [view poster]
Pierre Auclair-Desrotour (Observatoire de Paris) [view poster]
Jean-Loup Baudino (Observatoire de Paris) [view poster]
Jasmina Blecic (New York University) [view poster]
Ryan Challener (University of Central Florida) [view poster]
Emerson DeLarme (University of Central Florida) [view poster]
Hannah Diamond-Lowe (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics) [view poster]
Tom Evans (University of Exeter) [view poster]
Andrew Foster (University of Central Florida) [view poster]
Jonathan Fraine (Steward Observatory) [view poster]
Sébastien Fromang (Service d’Astrophysique, CEA-Saclay, France) [view poster]
Justin Garland (University of Central Florida) [view poster]
Joe Harrington (University of Central Florida) [view poster]
Gabriella Hodosan (University of St Andrews) [view poster]
Alex R. Howe (Princeton University) [view poster]
Catherine M. Huitson (University of Colorado) [view poster]
Alexandria Johnson (MIT) [view poster]
Manoj Joshi (University of East Anglia) [view poster]
Lucyna Kedziora-Chudczer (University of New South Wales) [view poster]
Andrew Lincowski (University of Washington) [view poster]
Roxana Lupu (BAERI/NASA Ames Research Center) [view poster]
L.C. Mayorga (New Mexico State University) [view poster]
Kathleen McIntyre (University of Central Florida) [view poster]
Sarah McKenzie-Picot (McMaster University) [view poster]
J.M. Mendonca (University of Bern) [view poster]
Sarah Peacock (University of Arizona) [view poster]
Ramses Ramirez (Carl Sagan Institute) [view poster]
A. R. Ridden-Harper (Leiden Observatory) [view poster]
Mike Roman (University of Michigan) [view poster]
Everett Schlawin (Steward Observatory) [view poster]
Joel C. Schwartz (Northwestern University) [view poster]
Aomawa L. Shields (UC Irvine/UCLA) [view poster]
Rehan Siddiqui (York University) [view poster]
J. J. Spake (University of Exeter) [view poster]
Ian Wong (Caltech University) [view poster]

Invited Speakers:
Juno First Results – Andy Ingersoll (Caltech)
Directly Imaged Exoplanets – Beth Biller (University of Edinburgh)
Nitrogen, water, and habitability – Colin Goldblatt (University of Victoria)
Tectonics and volatile cycling – Mark Jellinek (University of British Columbia)
Planetary Atmospheres Under M-Dwarf Irradiation – Antigona Segura (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Atmospheric Mass Loss – Ruth Murray-Clay (UC Santa Barbara)
Dynamics on Slow vs. Fast Rotators – Emily Rauscher (University of Michigan)
Climate on Eccentric Planets – Nikole Lewis (Space Telescope Science Institute)
Clouds, Microphysics, and Dynamics – Csaba Palotai (Florida Tech)
Disequilibrium Chemistry – Marcelino Agundez (Université de Bordeaux)
Hazes: Modeling vs. Reality – Sarah Horst (Johns Hopkins University)

ExoClimes 2016 Organisers:
Nick Cowan (McGill University, co-chair)
David Sing (University of Exeter, co-chair)
Jim Davenport (Western Washington University)
Ian Dobbs-Dixon (NYU Abu Dhabi)
Joe Harrington (University of Central Florida)
Frederic Pont (University of Exeter)
Joel Schwartz (Northwestern University)
Paul A. Wilson (Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris, webmaster)

ExoClimes 2016 Scientific Committee:
Daniel Apai (University of Arizona)
Beth Biller (University of Edinburgh)
Jonathan Fortney (UC Santa Cruz)
Colin Goldblatt (University of Victoria)
Joe Harrington (University of Central Florida, chair)
Suzanne Hawley (University of Washington)
Lisa Kaltenegger (Cornell)
Heather Knutson (Caltech)
Adrian Lenardic (Rice University)
Victoria Meadows (University of Washington)
Julianne Moses (Space Science Institute)
Ruth Murray-Clay (UC Santa Barbara)
Ray Pierrehumbert (Oxford)
Adam Showman (University of Arizona)

ExoClimes Steering Committee:
Frederic Pont (University of Exeter)
Nick Cowan (McGill University)
Joe Harrington (University of Central Florida)

Conferences and Workshops

  • The focus on collaborative technologies has enabled a unique phenomenon to emerge: the Workshop Without Walls. This structure brings together scientists from across the astrobiology community in a focused environment combining presentations with rich discussion.
  • Subscribe to this series